Reviews

Label-Reviews
Some samples of what people are saying about Colonial House Motel.
A selection from online reviews and our Visitors Book.

“…exceeded anyone’s expectations…”
“..friendly welcome..” Di Brewer  28 August 2018
 “Just perfect for us”. Sarah & Tony 20 January 2018
 
26/12/2017 Reviewed by Jing L
Our family stayed here for two nights and were extremely happy. The rooms were spacious, comfy and very clean. We were also welcomed with house wine and home made cookies which were lovely. Location was superb and we were well informed of local attractions, tours and places to eat. Thank you Andrea & Alan for your hospitality! Highly recommended!!
 
25/12/2017 Reviewed by Aria Z L
The owners Andrea and Alan were extremely friendly. The room was very clean. We could park just outside of our room; so very convenient. We had a microwave to heat up our home-made food. There was a refrigerator to keep our fruits cool. We had a very good sleep because it was quiet. The garden had a lot of fruit trees and flowers. We enjoyed some oranges from the tree. There was a saltwater swimming pool. The location was very walkable to the stone house and town centre. We felt we were staying in a 5-star hotel. We will come back and stay longer definitely. Highly recommended!
 
22/12/2017 Reviewed by BethMcGee
We were most cordially welcomed by our hospitable hosts Andrea and Allan. Homemade cookies were a bonus.We loved our tastefully appointed cabin with its very comfy bed and other welcome amenities.So enjoyed our stay! Many Thanks to Andrea and Allan for their gracious hospitality.
 
5 Nov 2017 Reviewed by Stubbies35
Very nice couple who run this Motel. Very nicely redecorated. Rooms cosy and warm. No street noise, rooms are set in amongst the trees and gardens. Parking is great. Fantastic place for kids over the holidays.
 
4 Nov 2017 Reviewed by errolin100
absolutely lovely place, hosts are so nice, room spotless, very comfy bed, sky tv, grounds are gorgeous, very quiet set off the road, pool and spa area,lovely welcome, close to the town and stone house, best motel by far in kerikeri. reccommend to all visitors, we, ll be back!!
 
20 Oct 2017 Reviewed by Ken2222
We stayed at the Colonial House Motel for 4 nights in September. We were welcomed by Andrea and Alan when we arrived and they showed us to the Cottage with a glass of wine and sweet treats. The cottage is very close to the pool and set among some nice gardens and fruit trees. The cottage had a veranda with outdoor furniture. The cottage was very clean and the decor was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We liked having Sky and Netflix available to watch and the Wi-Fi worked well. Andrea and Alan were such lovely people and happy to have a chat and they were very helpful in suggesting places to see in the area and they recommended a good tour to Cape Reinga that departs from Kaitaia that was a lot cheaper than tours leaving from Kerikeri and surrounding areas, so it was well worth the drive to Kaitaia. We had originally planned to drive ourselves all the way to Cape Reinga but are so glad we did the tour as it took us all the way along the 90 Mile Beach, something we couldn’t have done ourselves. We loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Colonial House Motel to anyone visiting Kerikeri.
 
16 Oct 2017 Reviewed by jess_cher
Travelling extensively for work means we stay in a lot of places, and Colonial House Motel takes the cake. Such a beautiful and warm welcome from Andrea and Alan, the units are absolutely beautifully laid out with extremely comfortable beds and lovely attention to detail. The setting is picturesque and peaceful with gardens and it’s peaceful, quiet, and no thought has been spared for your comfort. With incredible hosts I 10/10 recommend – a must stay!!!!!
 
5 Sep 2017 Reviewed by Sarah R
Stayed for one night at this hotel,wished we had longer.The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated,gorgeous crisp linen and very comfortable beds.The owner/hosts are charming and helpful exactly how customer service should be.We are retired airline employees and have stayed in accommodation places all over the world and this is up there with the best.Quiet situation and right next door to Wharepuke restaurant which serves delicious meals in a lovely subtropical garden setting.Don!t go past this place it is a gem,and their rates are pretty competitive,not cheap but totally value for money.Take a bow owners!!

“Thanks for all your help Andrea!”
Tina and Jonathan Rumble, Los Angeles, USA, March 2014

Mark and his Dad David relaxing by the pool

Really great, awesome stay, great hosts, would recommend”. Kiwi Mark and his UK Dad David relaxing by the pool on a cool evening.

“Séjour trés sympathique”
Jean-Hugues & Sylvie Pogliani , New Caledonia, March 2014

“Beautiful Place & Friendly”
John & Janet Deacon, Plymouth, UK, March 2014

“Best hospitality, thank you so much”
Caterina & Tom White, Stony Brook, NY, USA, February 2014

Been 6 weeks in New Zealand, this is the best place for ambience & prices – thank you”
John and Eve Clark, Loughton, Essex, England, May 2013

“Lovely rooms and really friendly, helpful owners”
Gillian and David Wright, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, March 2013

“Fantastic rooms, wonderful welcome”
Linda and Neil Michaelson, Knebworth, UK, March 2013

“We had a family cottage and cannot think of a better way to end our vacation in new Zealand”
Clothilde and Maarten van Poll, Haarlem, Nederland, March 2013

“Dear Andrea & Alan,
Just a note to say how much we have enjoyed our stay at your motel. It has been a treat.
It can be a hit and miss affair when choosing a motel out of a booklet or off an Internet website; your motel and the whole area is quiet, peaceful; the grounds are beautiful; to hear all the birds singing all day is wonderful especially to Aucklanders!
The unit is really welcoming with great beds & linen. The bathroom and especially the shower really luxurious. Every possible home comfort provided.Thank you, very much.”
Dawn R

“Beautiful, Very relaxing”
Aaron and Justine, Papamoa NZ, January 2013

” 😀 Very nice accommodation. Lovely stay. Great pool and spa and PussPuss♥ xx. Two thumbs up!! :lol:”
Robyn and Will, Feilding NZ, January 2013

“The best place I’ve stayed at so far on my Xmas road trip. Very welcome and a peaceful environment. Thank you!”
Jen Birtchnell, Lower Hutt, NZ, January 2013

“The best in New Zealand! – This was the most warm and friendly place we have stayed in in NZ. The hosts are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are very well equipped and clean with a calm, breazy atmosphere.”
Griffith, Australia – January 2012

“Great value for money – You’ll never find places like this anymore… we received a very warm welcome. The owners were genuinely helpful, very professional. Our rooms were clean, we had everything we needed. Extra bonuses of this places are – free wifi, 2 great pools just a few steps from our room, walking distance to cbd.”
Queenstown, New Zealand – January 2012

 LonelyPlanet

Garden-Iris
Garden-Flower5
Garden-Leaf2

 

 

 

 

Garden-Leaf1_4067
Garden-Leaf with wood
Garden-Flower2
Garden-Autumn